Deer Farmer

Go Back   Deer Farmer > Deer Farming Forum > Deer Breeding

Deer Breeding Deer Breeding and Genetics Forum - breeding (natural and AI), genetics, animal husbandry, bottle raising fawns and calves, weaning, care of pregnant females, etc.


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes

Old Dec 5th 2010, 01:20 PM   #1
 
  May 2010
  Glasgow, ky
Just thought I would post a pic of my 2yo breeder, just like to hear you thoughts. I want to stick with main frame typical's, he scored 170" this year. i hope I'm on the right track. Hope to cross some "trash" to my next years offspring.
Attached Thumbnails
Just wanting an opinion...-slick.jpg  
Pokeweed is offline  
Old Dec 5th 2010, 04:15 PM   #2
 
  May 2009
  Purgitsville, WV
If you want to stick with main frame typicals then why do you want to "cross some trash with next years offspring"? That doesn't make any sense to me. Maybe I'm misunderstanding your post. However your buck is very pretty and should produce deer about the same size he is at the same age. If that's what your looking for then you should be fine.
Nick is offline  
Old Dec 5th 2010, 05:18 PM   #3
 
  May 2010
  Glasgow, ky
Guess "trash" wasn't a good choice of words...sorry!



I would like to breed something with more main" frame points! Maybe with a drop or 2...but, yes I do love the long and symetrical points...I'm also new to the whole deer farming....that may be obvious!
Pokeweed is offline  
Old Dec 5th 2010, 05:21 PM   #4
 Whitetail Sanctuary's Avatar
 
  May 2009
  Chillicothe, Missouri
Nick, I believe you would breed with some "trash" to get a higher score,more "up tine",stickers in the right spot not what some call "base trash" that adds to a cheap score.That would be my take on it.
Whitetail Sanctuary is offline  
Old Dec 6th 2010, 02:56 PM   #5
 
  May 2009
  Purgitsville, WV
Wayne, I understand that. I guess I thought he was looking for more of a clean typical look. I also like the look of a big main frame buck with just enough extra's to set him apart from the others. I really like the look of deer like Noble, Corbin, Roben, Rolex by 10 and Maxfli to name a few. Best of luck to you all with your breedings.
Nick is offline  
Old Dec 6th 2010, 07:00 PM   #6
 
  May 2010
  Glasgow, ky
In fact Rolexby10 is what i would like to AI to!...I really like that look.
Pokeweed is offline  
Reply

  Deer Farmer > Deer Farming Forum > Deer Breeding

Tags
opinion, wanting



Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Discussions
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Public broadcasting television station wanting interview? Bell Deer Farming 10 Jul 17th 2014 12:24 PM
Wanting to start a new farm in ohio Zachramey71 Deer Farm Management 13 Jun 18th 2014 07:17 AM
I want your opinion !! wvdeerman Cervid Industry 11 Jul 22nd 2012 04:49 PM
What is your opinion? Chris M Deer Breeding 6 Jan 25th 2012 09:28 AM
Just wanting to know Johnny B Cervid Community 68 Dec 12th 2011 05:25 AM


Facebook Twitter Google+ RSS Feed